Secrétariat

Secrétariat de la Charte

La création du Secrétariat de la Charte Climat et Environnement pour les organisations humanitaires a été annoncée lors de la COP28 à Dubaï en décembre 2023. Le Secrétariat de la Charte sert de centre de référence pour soutenir et connecter les organisations afin de mettre en œuvre les engagements de la Charte à travers ses quatre domaines principaux :

  1. Connectez les signataires à des experts et des ressources au sein et au-delà du réseau de la Charte pour accéder à des conseils techniques dans la mise en œuvre des engagements de la Charte.
  2. Servir de plate-forme de partage de connaissances pour partager des ressources liées à la Charte, collaborer au développement de produits de connaissances et échanger les leçons apprises et les meilleures pratiques de la communauté de la Charte.
  3. Renforcer la communication et l’engagement avec les signataires de la Charte en développant et en améliorant les plateformes de partenariat, d’apprentissage et de coordination.
  4. Promouvoir, diffuser et défendre la Charte et la mise en œuvre de ses engagements au sein de la communauté humanitaire.

Dans ces domaines, le Secrétariat de la Charte :

Aider les signataires à naviguer dans les orientations, outils et informations existants et pertinents disponibles sur le site Web de la Charte et au-delà ;

Connecter les signataires avec les centres d’expertise et de ressources existants sur une variété de sujets stratégiques, techniques et programmatiques ;

Organiser des webinaires et des ateliers pour partager les leçons apprises et les meilleures pratiques des organisations qui ont déjà mis en œuvre des programmes ou élaboré des objectifs, des plans d’action, des stratégies, etc. et fournir un soutien aux communautés de pratique ;

Co-créer et développer des produits de connaissances, informés par les besoins des signataires de la Charte, qui mettra en lumière des études de cas, les meilleures pratiques et les enseignements tirés de la mise en œuvre des engagements ;

Partager et diffuser des informations pertinentes sur les derniers développements, initiatives, orientations et événements liés au climat, à l’environnement et à l’action humanitaire ; et

Promouvoir, diffuser et défendre la Charte dans l’ensemble du secteur humanitaire.

Vous pouvez trouver plus d’informations sur la manière dont le Secrétariat de la Charte peut soutenir les organisations ICI


Gouvernance et Administration

Le Secrétariat de la Charte est administré par le Conseil international des agences bénévoles (ICVA) et un conseil d’administration qui sert de mécanisme de gouvernance. Le conseil d’administration comprend trois membres permanents : la Fédération internationale des sociétés de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge (FICR), le Comité international de la Croix-Rouge (CICR) et l’ICVA – qui ont dirigé ensemble l’élaboration de la Charte. Deux autres organisations signataires et un État partisan serviront de membres non permanents à tour de rôle. Le conseil d’administration inaugural sera annoncé en juillet 2024.

Susan Wilding, Directrice des Opérations

Interntional Council of Voluntary Agencies (ICVA): ICVA est un réseau mondial d’organisations non gouvernementales dont la mission est de rendre l’action humanitaire plus fondée sur des principes et plus efficace en travaillant collectivement et indépendamment pour influencer les politiques et les pratiques.

Ninni Ikkala Nyman, Responsable Climat

Fédération internationale des Sociétés de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge (FICR) : La FICR est le plus grand réseau humanitaire au monde. Notre secrétariat soutient l’action humanitaire locale de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge et le renforcement de la résilience des communautés dans plus de 191 pays, réunissant plus de 16 millions de volontaires pour le bien de l’humanité.

Catherine-Lune Grayson, Chef des politiques

Comité international de la Croix-Rouge (ICRC ) :  Créé en 1863, le ICRC est une organisation indépendante et neutre qui assure la protection et l’assistance humanitaires aux victimes de conflits armés et d’autres situations de violence à travers le monde. Elle agit en réponse aux situations d’urgence et promeut le respect du droit international humanitaire et sa mise en œuvre.

Nishanie Jayamaha, Co-Coordinatrice

Nishanie a plus de 20 ans d’expérience de travail au sein des Nations Unies, des organisations internationales, des institutions gouvernementales, des ONG et du secteur privé dans une variété de rôles avec une expertise allant de la gestion des catastrophes et de la réduction des risques, à la réponse et à la coordination humanitaires et de relèvement rapide, à la protection, à l’accès. négociations, genre, espace civique, apprentissage et changement climatique. Elle a commencé sa carrière humanitaire au Sri Lanka après le tsunami dans l’océan Indien et a travaillé aux niveaux national, régional et du siège sur les politiques et les pratiques. Elle a travaillé avec l’OCHA de l’ONU, le Sommet humanitaire mondial et les secrétariats du Grand Bargain, Professionals in Humanitarian Action and Protection (PHAP), et dans son rôle le plus récent, Nishanie était responsable du climat et de l’apprentissage pour le Conseil international des agences bénévoles (ICVA). ). Nishanie est titulaire d’une maîtrise en relations internationales de l’Université de Colombo et d’une licence en anglais, sociologie et psychologie de l’Université de Peradeniya, au Sri Lanka. Elle a également entrepris des études en psychologie de l’enfant et en diplomatie.

Natasha Westheimer, Co-Coordinatrice

Natasha a plus d’une décennie d’expérience à la croisée de la gouvernance de l’eau et du climat, du développement durable, ainsi que de la paix et de la sécurité . Natasha a consacré sa carrière à comprendre et à résoudre les interactions complexes entre les défis environnementaux et les problèmes sociaux, en aidant les communautés des régions fragiles et des zones de conflit à garantir leurs droits à l’eau et à renforcer leur résilience climatique. Son travail a couvert une variété de rôles, allant de la facilitation de négociations régionales de haut niveau sur l’eau avec les institutions des Nations Unies au soutien aux organisations de la société civile et aux initiatives communautaires pour faire progresser l’adaptation climatique et gérer les risques, en grande partie dans la région SWANA/MENA. Natasha est titulaire d’une maîtrise en sciences, politiques et gestion de l’eau de l’Université d’Oxford et d’un baccalauréat en développement international et atténuation des conflits de l’Université du Maryland.


Nos supporters

Le Secrétariat de la Charte a été financé par le généreux soutien de la Direction générale de la protection civile et des opérations d’aide humanitaire européennes (DG ECHO) de l’Union européenne et du peuple américain par l’intermédiaire de l’Agence des États-Unis pour le développement international (USAID).


Contacter le Secrétariat

Le secrétariat peut être contacté à secretariat@climate-charter.org

Secretariat

About the Charter Secretariat

The establishment of the Secretariat for the Climate and Environment Charter for Humanitarian Organisations was announced at COP28 in Dubai in December 2023. The Charter Secretariat serves as a referral hub to support and connect organisations to implement the Charter commitments through its four core areas:

  1. Connect signatories to experts and resources within and beyond the Charter network to access technical guidance in implementing Charter commitments.
  2. Serve as a knowledge-sharing platform to share Charter-related resources, collaborate in developing knowledge products, and exchange lessons learned and best practices from the Charter community.
  3. Strengthen communications and engagement with Charter signatories through developing and enhancing platforms for partnership, learning, and coordination.
  4. Promote, disseminate, and advocate for the Charter, and the implementation of its commitments, within the humanitarian community.

Across these areas, the Charter Secretariat will:

  • Support Signatories to navigate existing and relevant guidance, tools and information available on the Charter website and beyond;
  • Connect Signatories with existing expertise and resource centres on a variety of strategic, technical and programmatic subjects;
  • Organise webinars and workshops to share lessons learned and best practices from organisations that have already implemented programmes or developed targets, plans of action, strategies etc. and provide support to communities of practice;
  • Co-create and develop knowledge products, informed by the needs of Charter Signatories, that will highlight case studies, best practices, and lessons learned on the implementation of commitments;
  • Share and disseminate relevant information on the latest developments, initiatives, guidance, and events related to climate, the environment, and humanitarian action; and
  • Promote, disseminate, and advocate for the Charter across the humanitarian sector

You can find more information on how the Charter Secretariat can support organisations HERE


Governance and Administration

The Charter Secretariat is administered by the International Council of Voluntary Agencies (ICVA) and a Board, which serves as a governance mechanism. The board includes three permanent members: the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC), the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC), and ICVA – who together led the development of the Charter. Two other signatory organisations and one State supporter will serve as non-permanent members on a rotating basis. The inaugural board will be announced in June 2024.

The Board

Susan Wilding, Chief Operating Officer

International Council of Voluntary Agencies (ICVA): ICVA is a global network of non-governmental organizations whose mission is to make humanitarian action more principled and effective by working collectively and independently to influence policy and practice.

Ninni Ikkala Nyman, Climate Lead

International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC): The IFRC is the world’s largest humanitarian network. Our secretariat supports local Red Cross and Red Crescent humanitarian action and community resilience building in more than 191 countries, bringing together more than 16 million volunteers for the good of humanity.

Catherine-Lune Grayson, Head of Policy

International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC): Established in 1863, the ICRC is an independent and neutral organization ensuring humanitarian protection and assistance for victims of armed conflict and other situations of violence across the world. It takes action in response to emergencies and promotes respect for international humanitarian law and its implementation.

Mihir Bhatt, Director

All India Disaster Mirtigation Institute (AIDMI): AIDMI is a registered non-governmental organisation based in Gujarat, India. It is a community-based action planning, research and advocacy organisation, working towards bridging the gap between policy, practice and research related to disaster mitigation and climate change adaptation as laid out in National Disaster Management Plan of Government of India of 2019.

Thuy-Binh Nguyen, Interim Director of the CARE Climate Justice Center and Programme Quality Lead

CARE International: CARE International is a 75-year-old global confederation working to fight poverty and social injustice in the world, with a specific focus on the empowerment of women and girls. We work side-by-side with communities to understand the root causes of poverty and find innovative, locally-led solutions. The CARE Climate Justice Center leads and coordinates the integration of climate justice and resilience across CARE’s development and humanitarian work.

Staff

Nishanie Jayamaha, Co-Coordinator

Nishanie has over 20 years of experience working in the United Nations, International Organisations, Government institutions, NGO, and private sectors in a variety of roles with expertise ranging from disaster management and risk reduction, humanitarian and early recovery response and coordination, protection, access negotiations, gender, civic space, learning and climate change. She started her humanitarian career in Sri Lanka following the Indian Ocean Tsunami and has worked at country, regional and HQ levels on policy and practice. She has worked with UN OCHA, the World Humanitarian Summit and the Grand Bargain secretariats, Professionals in Humanitarian Action and Protection (PHAP), and in her most recent role, Nishanie was the Climate and Learning lead for the International Council of Voluntary Agencies (ICVA). Nishanie has a Master’s in International Relations from the University of Colombo and a Bachelor’s Degree in English, Sociology, and Psychology from the University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka. She has also undertaken studies in child psychology and diplomacy.

Natasha Westheimer, Co-Coordinator

Natasha has over a decade of experience at the nexus of water and climate governance, sustainable development, and peace and security. Natasha has dedicated her career to unravelling and addressing the complex interactions between environmental challenges and social issues, supporting communities in fragile regions and conflict zones to secure water rights and build climate resilience. Her work has spanned a variety of roles, from facilitating high-level regional water negotiations with UN institutions to supporting civil society organizations and community initiatives to advance climate adaptation and navigate risk, largely in the SWANA/MENA region. Natasha holds a Master’s in Water Science, Policy, and Management from the University of Oxford and a Bachelor’s in International Development and Conflict Mitigation from the University of Maryland.


Our Supporters

The Charter Secretariat has been funded by the generous support of the European Union’s Directorate-General for European Civil Protection and Humanitarian Aid Operations (DG ECHO) and the United States Agency for International Development (USAID).


Contact the Secretariat

The secretariat can be contacted at secretariat@climate-charter.org